100% alpaca wool scarf, ‘Yellow Butterfly’

NOVICA, in association with National Geographic, searches the world to work directly with the finest artisan designers. Knitted neatly into a warm green scarf, yellow butterflies wing their way toward summer. This lovely design by Martin Garay is crafted of luxurious Andean alpaca wool. Artisan Info: “My name is Martín Garay Chavez and I was born on April 26, 1982. I am a textile artisan with a formal training in this area as I took several courses in renowned Peruvian academies. I strive to combine cultural artistry with contemporary trends to create innovative designs. “Ever since I was a boy, I’ve been incorporating art and creativity in practically everything I do. I’ve focused my art on textiles since 2000, moved by a desire to create something new and different. To me, innovation means to create a piece that is unique ? like an indelible fingerprint that survives time. “I look to transmit the harmony between what is antique and what is modern. I seek a balance between millenary cultures and contemporary trends and their application to everyday wear. “I began by making sketches and then I realized I wanted my sketches to become tangible objects, make them real. That’s how I started to bring them to life through different means such as textiles. “When I was a boy I used to go to the office where my mom and aunt worked, and I would start chatting with the other women there. Later I would start drawing based on what we’d talk about and the emotions I perceived. The paintings
Gifts for Anyone

